Primary School

PRIMARY SCHOOL

Foundation and Intermediate Phases

The Foundation Phase refers to Grade R through to Grade 3. The Foundation Phase sees to the developmental needs of learners. From Grade R, our learners are taught social skills through fantasy and outdoor play as well as creative activities, stories and perceptual activities. The transition from Grade R to Grade 1 involves prime focus on the development of the whole child in a supportive environment. In Grade 1, learners are introduced to two additional languages. The Co-Curricular programme includes all activities suitable for the ages 5-9.

Our Foundation Phase ensures learners are equipped with all the Language, Mathematical and Life Skills in order to continue their transition journey into the Intermediate Phase.

During the transition from the Foundation Phase to the Intermediate Phase, the learners at CBC Mount Edmund become aware of themselves in a wider context than children in a family, but rather of a larger community. The Intermediate Phase runs from Grade 4 to Grade 7. During this phase, our learners concentrate on enhancing their literacy skills and study skills assessment becomes more rigorous. With guidance from teachers and peers, learners are given the opportunity to grow independently and are taught the importance of responsibility. The use of technology is promoted in the phase. This is achieved by the integration of technology in the classroom and providing the learners with the skills to confidently develop in our digital age. In this welcoming and inviting section, each learner is given the necessary personal attention in an inclusive environment whilst given the opportunity to learn through discovery. We foster a love for reading, creativity, independence and critical thinking.

CBC Mount Edmund’s Primary School offers a truly maturing, encompassing, active and rewarding experience while ensuring that our values and ethos shine in every aspect.

Inaish Chetty

Deputy Principal – Primary School
B Ed (Hon)
ichetty@cbcpretoria.co.za

D. Sim

Head of Foundation Phase

HDE
dsim@cbcpretoria.co.za

K. Skinner

Head of Intermediate Phase

B Ed (FET)
kskinner@cbcpretoria.co.za

PRIMARY SCHOOL STAFF

T. Viljoen

HOD
Grade R
HDE
tviljoen@cbcpretoria.co.za

C. Van Zyl

W. Lowe

M. du Toit

D. Nell

Grade 2
B Prim Ed
dnell@cbcpretoria.co.za

C. Alho

Y. Roupa

M. Esquino

Student Intern
Primary School

M. Thutlane

Student Intern
Primary School

R. Da Cruz

Student Intern
Primary School

N. Human

Student Intern
Primary School

J. Russel

Grade 4
BA HDE; BA (Hon)
jrussel@cbcpretoria.co.za

R. van Wyk

S. Sousa

Grade 6
BA; PGCE
ssousa@cbcpretoria.co.za

K. Brooker

J. Kloppenborg

Grade 5
B Prim Ed
jkloppenborg@cbcpretoria.co.za

F. Kriel

Grade 6
B Prim Ed
fkriel@cbcpretoria.co.za

K. Skinner

Grade 7
B Ed (FET)
kskinner@cbcpretoria.co.za

D. Hart-Visser

B. Pieters

Music
BMus (Hons); MMus
bpieters@cbcpretoria.co.za

R. Clayden

Media Centre
B Ed(Hon); HDE
rclayden@cbcpretoria.co.za

L. Harrison

M. Phala

Sepedi
BA Ed; BA (Hon)
MPhala@cbcpretoria.co.za

L. Dinkelmann

Art
Dip Art; PGCE
ldinkelmann@cbcpretoria.co.za